NordInvasion Forum

Full Version: Cavalry?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I started playing this mod when there were no cavalry, I asked why and they said there were problems but no-one told me what the problems were, so if someone could say what the problems with cavalry were that would be helpful because I love being cavalry so I would like to be one in my favourite mod
Yeah
No. Cav were removed long ago to stop the massive kiting. It also hindered team-play. I can say with absolute certainly that cav will not come back to the mod. (Aside from Slepnir).
(29-08-2012, 08:20 PM)Sparhawk link Wrote: [ -> ]No.

?
Edited.
The big problem was that it was easy to kite to long periods of time on a horse (on the big open maps). So, you could have a full server with everyone dead but one person and the cavalry would just ride around trying to kill bots. Often times, it would take multiple passes to kill a bot, times multiple bots, times multiple rounds. Not a lot of fun (I spend much time watching servers after being dead). It also didn't involve much teamwork when a few horses would run and horde the bots (this was also pre-loot sharing), so the only way to get XP was to charge into a concentrated bunch of Nords if you were melee. Archers could pick off bots in the crowd.

The second problem was maps. Cavalry need wide open spots, which are hard for archers/melee to deal with without getting swarmed, so there was also the issue of map optimization.

Also, there were Nord calvary as well, which just trampled the on-foot players for the most part, especially if more than a few spawned (much less a full round of them).