NordInvasion Forum
Idea for formations - Printable Version

+- NordInvasion Forum (https://forum.nordinvasion.com)
+-- Forum: Discussions (https://forum.nordinvasion.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=7)
+--- Forum: Community Discussion & Engagement (https://forum.nordinvasion.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=14)
+--- Thread: Idea for formations (/showthread.php?tid=29306)

Pages: 1 2

Idea for formations - Ozzy - 04-10-2014

Formations.
Nords are quite disorganized when it comes to them. How many times have you annihilated the spawn wave, because the Nords where just rushing towards you without any sense of strategy?

Adding them to the 'NI' would not only it would provide some extent of realism, it also would make the game more fun and maybe even challenging.

I've got no experience in coding or modding, so I don't even know if this would be possible, but as I remember some of the 'Warband' mods did provide the formation feature, if not the native version itself.

So please tell me if this sounds like great idea or not.

P.S. Personally I think only spawn and challenge waves should have this feature, at least in 'Normal' game mode, because how can peasants with IQ of 1 can make any sensible strategies?

Re: Idea for formations - Aleks - 04-10-2014

Idea is nice but there is some problems like: coding the bots to understand orders . Who would command the bots? And player commander is bad idea.

Re: Idea for formations - Greg - 04-10-2014

It is good idea, but probably could work only on cavalery maps as they are big and we cant simply hide behind shielders and cades.

Re: Idea for formations - Sargent Q - 04-10-2014

What mods have you seen the Formations in?  Is it mods with bots, or is it mods with people fighting people?  I have hard SO many times that the Warband AI is so stupid that they can't do hardly anything.  I do not think that this idea can be implemented into NI without writing a whole new AI for the Bots.

Re: Idea for formations - Aigle - 04-10-2014